ARCHIVE

US Presidents Research Project

>

FuninFifth

US Presidents Research Project
Old 01-11-2006, 06:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello Out There,
This is my first year teaching 5th grade and I'm preparing to have the kids begin on a research project. They will select a US President for the project. I'd like to have them include three sections in their report: Early Years, Presidency, and then a choice for their third section. My question is: does anyone have any rubrics, templates, organizational ideas for the kids? I am banking on this being a 5 week process. Thanks in advance for anyone who has some ideas up their sleeves.

FuninFifth is offline   Reply With Quote

bamagirl

Presidential Posters
Old 01-11-2006, 09:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

A couple years ago, I had my 5th graders create Presidential Posters. Since then, we have changed to team teaching, so I only teach 5th grade reading. Therefore, I can't remember exactly what I had the kids do!

I know it had to be the large poster board size, and they had to have a large colored picture of their President. It also had to have the President's name and years he served as President in large lettering at the top. It seems like they put other important facts around the edges or at the bottom. I would probably give the kids a list of information that had to be included on the poster, but let them be creative as to how they wanted to design it. I found some "safe" websites, and the kids used computer lab time to do research. This always seemed more interesting than a written report, and it made presentation day much more enjoyable!

One other suggestion...I would either assign each student a President, or put the names of all the Presidents in a basket and let your students draw one out. This way, you know you will have a variety of reports/projects. If you let the students select their President, you will probably end up with 5 doing Thomas Jefferson, 8 doing George W. Bush, and 10+ doing George Washington.