Hello all - new and have some questions (long post) - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Future Teachers

Hello all - new and have some questions (long post)

>

nerdteacher

Hello all - new and have some questions (long post)
Old 01-11-2012, 01:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Greetings everyone,

I just want to say first that I am NOT a student teacher yet. I am considering going back to school for a teaching degree in either Math or Geosciences (5-12). Right now, I am a failing graphic designer who can't find freelance work or any jobs in my area (Tacoma, WA). So I need to go back to school to do something more viable.

I am very nervous about this whole journey, though. I've often thought of becoming a teacher, but now that I'm faced with the decision, I'm not sure I'm cut out for it. I mean, I greatly value education and knowledge, but do I have the right disposition to teach kids? I don't have any kids of my own, so I worry that I might not know how to relate to them.

I have so many questions about the demonstration teaching portion of the degree, but I haven't been able to find any real answers anywhere, so I thought I'd post here.

What, exactly, is involved? Right now, I am semi-disabled due to health/weight issues. I have a painful lower back and I'm concerned that there will be a lot of standing/walking during this portion of the degree. I'm an online student, so the student teaching part is the only time I'll actually be interacting with students or anyone else.

I am seeing a doctor soon in order to try to get these health issues under control and I know the student teaching portion won't happen for at least a year and a half, but it's something I need to think seriously about before diving into this program.