First time working with 6th graders. Help? - ProTeacher Community

Last Chance to Enter!

sandycheeks

First time working with 6th graders. Help?
Old 01-20-2012, 07:45 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a college student doing my fieldwork this semester in a 6th grade class. The past two semesters have worked through Pre-K- 3rd grade. I loved kindergarten. But, my real intentions are to be an art teacher (k-12). So I never really considered 6th grade, but it's the highest grade level in my certification and now I have to do it. And I am prettttty nervous about it. I feel like they will know I am not a teacher and won't respect me or see me as such. I remember, 10 years ago, being in 6th grade and it was a touch weird time. I've worked with the age group for my job and from my experiences I find my self nervous about it.
I did well with lessons and with my experiences with the younger ones, passed my courses with straight A's, and done very well on my supervised lessons also... But there's just something daunting to me about working with the older ones.

How is 6th grade? Does any body have experience in this grade level and age group? Any advice or words of wisdom? Any tips concerning management?

-Thanks!

sandycheeks is offline   Reply With Quote

GdHrtdTchr

6th Grade
Old 01-20-2012, 12:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

First, I don't know how much I can help you because in some ways I'm in a similar boat. However, since I don't see any other replies, I'll try to at least respond.

I am an experienced teacher, but I was teaching mostly 1st-3rd for the last 20 years and now I'm dealing with 1st-8th -- mostly 6th-8th. This has been an adjustment for me. Middle school is a tough age and I'm in a struggling district and my students come from some of the worst environments, so it's been challenging. But right now I'm finding the 6th graders much easier than the 7th/8th.