Out of Control Class - ProTeacher Community

Amrigney

Amrigney

Out of Control Class
Old 01-22-2012, 09:53 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I recently took a job teaching 6th, 7th, and 8th grade remedial reading/ language arts in a poor region of Chicago, Englewood. I began the school year in January halfway through the year. On my first day I found out that the school was forced to track all students in middle school to an A, B, or C level class starting that day! My students were therefore having to adjust to all new teachers, students, and now all of the low level students are in my class and they know they are the low-level learners. To top all of this off, it is my first year teaching.

My sixth and eighth grade classes are well-mannered and with gentle persuading will stay on task. My seventh graders are making me loose control. I see them for five periods throughout the day, as they are my homeroom. In the morning they are tolerable and will follow along at a decent enough pace. I still find myself yelling to get quiet at least two to three times a class (90 min). These students come back to my class before lunch, then they have recess in my room, and then they have study hall in my room after lunch. Before and after lunch the class is out of control. I can not get them to be quite for more than 2 minutes, and they will get out of their seats constantly.