90 minute reading block - ProTeacher Community

Last Chance to Enter!

KateKate

90 minute reading block
Old 02-02-2012, 08:03 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a fifth grade teacher and we are going to start having a 90 minute reading block next year. I am trying to work on a schedule for that 90 minute block for all fifth grade teachers to use. I need some suggestions please. Thanks.

KateKate is offline   Reply With Quote

la44utk

Lucky you...
Old 02-02-2012, 02:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

We have a 90 minutes language arts block, and we're expected to fit in writing, grammar, spelling, vocabulary, and reading. NOT ENOUGH TIME! If yours is just reading the whole 90 minutes, that's wonderful!
la44utk is offline   Reply With Quote

Sam5

Old 02-03-2012, 02:53 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I have about 110 minutesfor my reading block.
I have
-20 minutes words study whole group- word stem of the week, story words, and sometimes spelling
-30 minutes whole group comprehension instruction based on a basal.
-60 minutes of what I call IRT- individual reading time
During this time, Students participate in reading groups, stations with partners, and silent reading. I, or a reading aide I have for 40 minutes every day, meet with my lower level students(the bottom 10) every day during this time. I meet with the rest of the students either in small groups or individually.

My special ed students stay for whole group word study and comprehension instruction and then meet with the resource teacher for the last 60 minutes.

My reading intervention students go to interventions for the last 30 minutes of the block so they don't do stations or silent reading.

My students' stations are word study, grammar, fiction, nonfiction, and writing. My students go to one station per day.
Sam5 is offline   Reply With Quote

cheers93

Old 02-05-2012, 07:36 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4