Self-contained v. departmentalized classrooms - ProTeacher Community

tkiser

Self-contained v. departmentalized classrooms
Old 04-25-2007, 09:46 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello, teachers. I am an elementary education student expecting to graduate within a year. I have completed observation/practicum hours in both departmentalized and self-contained classrooms. As of now, I find the self-contained class more appealing. Which do you all prefer?

tkiser is offline   Reply With Quote

Dildine

self-contained
Old 04-25-2007, 12:14 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

self - contained
Dildine is offline   Reply With Quote

tkiser

Old 04-26-2007, 08:21 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Can you tell me why? Thanks.
brg89

brg89

Self-Contained
Old 04-26-2007, 10:25 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I recommend self-contained (SC). I have tried both. SC is great because you have more flexibility and control in your classroom. Behavior problems are reduced because your kids know what is expected of them. The other class knows what is expected of them, but unless it is consistent throughout the day, they won't remember. Teaming was bad for me because my partner didn't have the same philosophy as me and we were not on the same page when it came to management, homework, behavior, discipline, etc... It was a stressful year! I was SC last year (my 1st year teaching) and it was much less stressful compared to this year. I bet that would be different if I had a partner that I was compatible with. The one good thing about teaming is the lack of lesson planning you only have to plan for what you are teaching. So its easier for planning, but more difficult in other respects. Sorry if I sound like Im rambling!

jabnphillips

Departmentalized!!
Old 04-26-2007, 06:32 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5