Non-renewed and need advice - ProTeacher Community

beccasue14

Non-renewed and need advice
Old 03-15-2012, 06:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi PT,
I am a seventh year teacher who was moved to a new grade this year. My class was stacked with several behavior problems and managment has been a nightmare. As a district, we are going through a "culture shift" and they have been changing the way everything is done. Everytime I received feedback I adjusted to what was being asked of me, and I went as far as asking for help with classroom managment because I was having such a difficult time with this class (to give an idea, three teachers with a total of 50+ years combined experience moved up to third grade to avoid this group of students another year). I have been very proactive and made adjustments that have contradicted what I know to be best for students, however despite all of this, I was told that I am being non-renewed because I lack managment, planning and organization skills. The example that I was given for this is that I am over on my copies and did not properly utuilize our district's print shop. Needless to say, I am more than a little upset. I have talked with my union rep and I can resign, but forfeit but unemployment rights, or I can take the non-renewal. After reading several threads on here, I feel more comfortable taking the non-renewal and do not feel as though it is a "kiss of death" to my career. However, I need some advice. What do you put on job applications when they ask "reason for leaving last position?" I want to be truthful, but at the same time, I don't want to just put "non-renewal. Would love any advice you have....
Feeling overwhelmed.....

beccasue14 is offline   Reply With Quote

ColoradoTeach

so sorry
Old 03-15-2012, 06:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2