I need ideas for 6th grade classroom management! - ProTeacher Community

jdbrace

I need ideas for 6th grade classroom management!
Old 04-03-2012, 09:37 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been informed that I will be teaching a self-contained 6th grade class next year. I have been teaching for 11 years (5 years in 1st and 6 years in Kinder). I am very excited about the move...but I am at a loss as to how to reward my 6th grade students. In 1st & Kinder I of used a behavior chart/homework chart with stickers and little dollar store rewards. But what do 6th graders like/want? I do not believe in giving out soda so that is not an option for me. Any other ideas would be greatly appreciated! Thank you so much for the help!!

jdbrace is offline   Reply With Quote

trishg1

Old 04-03-2012, 09:55 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Management- duct tape

Reward- my kids love to get to go to the computer lab and play on coolmath.

There are several threads on here about self contained sixth. I tend to be pretty laid back and relational with my kids.
trishg1 is offline   Reply With Quote

LuvMyRatties

trishg1
Old 04-03-2012, 12:08 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

"Management- duct tape" --

love it!
LuvMyRatties is online now   Reply With Quote

Logicat

Classroom economy
Old 04-03-2012, 05:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Consider using classroom money as a reward system. You could probably use similar ideas as your sticker chart, but just give the kids fake $ instead. I don't have a set system- if I feel like giving money, I do. Most of the time I don't think about it until a kid is acting up and then I remember to reward the good kids.