math ideas for job interview - ProTeacher Community

ckharn2

math ideas for job interview
Old 04-19-2012, 02:23 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am finishing up my second year of teaching. I am getting married this summer, and my fiancé and I are hoping to move back to our hometown. I have an interview scheduled in two weeks at the school there, and am so excited - but very nervous! The principal said he is interested in someone for 4th grade math. He also suggested that I bring some samples of activities and lessons that typify my teaching style. As a newer teacher, I feel like I am still trying to find "my style" and I try a little of everything. Does anyone have any suggestions of what I could bring to show that I differentiate instruction and incorporate as many hands-on activities as possible? I really appreciate any suggestions!!

ckharn2 is offline   Reply With Quote

FinallyWritin

I hope this helps...
Old 04-19-2012, 04:58 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I taught math my first year and I learned a lot from my mistakes. I would show a lesson that contains a whole-group lesson, guided practice, independent practice and small-group work. I don't have one as an example, but I did too many whole-group lessons last year. This could be an overall example:

Monday-review/quiz from the week before, technology component (Study Island, SmartBoard lesson, video) to preview this week's concept
Tuesday-whole group lesson, guided practice
Wednesday-vocabulary review, independent practice, small-group (I do 2 rotations in 1 day)
Thursday-overall review, facts, small-group (I do the last 2 rotations in day 2)
Friday-independent, review, test

Just on overall example, not really what you asked, but hopefully helpful!
FinallyWritin is offline   Reply With Quote

1956BD

Two ideas
Old 04-19-2012, 04:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3