Condescending teachers - ProTeacher Community

subt8888

Condescending teachers
Old 04-22-2012, 02:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Why are some teachers so rude? Why don't they realize that you too have been in their place and have some sense? Why do they give you such little credit because you are no longer employed as a full time teacher?
Also, how do you keep your mouth closed and get through the day when this happens? I know that you cannot say a word but it is hard to continue the day feeling so mistreated. Subs are only human and have feelings too!!!

subt8888 is offline   Reply With Quote

lovrofhistory

Brazen
Old 04-22-2012, 04:10 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Perhaps I am more brazen than some-I tell teachers up front that I have been a teacher for 17 years in both a SPED environment and standard classroom-I left to get my Ph.D. However, I believe you can tailor the conversation to your own reasons. It is none of their business why you are not teaching full time; however, once you establish that you have been in their shoes the respect level seems to change-at least in my case I notice it has.

I posted earlier about the staff being as big a challenge as the students this past year-seems you have had the same experience(s).

Hang in there-remember why you sub and chalk it up as those who wish they had the opportunity to do the same thing.
lovrofhistory is offline   Reply With Quote

momandsub

Speak Up...
Old 04-22-2012, 07:08 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I my prior career I would never think of treating a temp worker as rudely as I have been treated by other teachers as a sub. I just don't get it. My first few years of doing this I would not speak up, now I don't put up with any of it. I am just as capable as any of them.
momandsub is offline   Reply With Quote

StellatheSub

Old 04-22-2012, 08:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4