Title 1 screening/eligibility - ProTeacher Community

sweet babboo

Title 1 screening/eligibility
Old 05-11-2012, 10:55 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello,

I am a Title 1 Math tutor. I am the only Title 1 person in the school and have a million questions that I have asked 2 million times, but keep receiving different answers.

Do I need to give a new assessment to students who I am "required" to service, or is it enough to say that they meet the tenets of Title 1?

I know that I can assist students who aren't "required" for Title 1 as guests, but what about students that aren't required but are low in math without SPED math goals? For instance, I have 22 students in grades 1-4. About half of them are on my "required to serve" list. The other half need extra math help, were referred by the teachers, and earned low scores on the Title 1 assessments I have available. Should I not be helping the non-required kids?

I looked at my state requirements, the federal requirements, and asked the Title 1 coordinator for the district... but either can't find the answer or get different answers.

Thanks.

sweet babboo is offline   Reply With Quote

MrsM

eligibility
Old 05-11-2012, 11:27 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I don't understand what you mean by "required".

Here's what I do know. For a targeted-assistance school, all students are screened by the same criteria (multiple assessments) and ranked according to the most need. You pull from the ones with the most need, excepting the students with IEP in that area.

With schoolwide Title I, it's different. All students are considered to be Title I students. We still made an eligibility list and served according to the most need, but we could also add students without strictly going according to most need. For example, I had a group of 7 reading students, quite a large group, and could not add any more students from that classroom. We could skip the next person with need, and add a student to a group of 4 because there was room.