Ideas or tips for 1st grade - ProTeacher Community

teachE2000

Ideas or tips for 1st grade
Old 06-19-2012, 09:45 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been teaching for 12 years (9 years in kindergarten, 2 years in 3rd grade, and one year in 1st grade). I will be in 1st grade again this coming year. Does anyone have any good ideas to share?

teachE2000 is offline   Reply With Quote

4+2

Old 06-19-2012, 02:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I really don't have any ideas but, I too am going to teach 1st grade..I hope people give you good ideas so I can look at them
I think for me will be the 1st week of school, I use to teach higher grades , I just jumped in and started the lessons.
4+2 is offline   Reply With Quote

ReadingTchr28

Old 06-19-2012, 04:34 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Well coming from Kinder..you're all set!! This will be more for the person below you...lol I was in kindergarten for a year, while I loved to see them learn so much their 1st year of school, I like the independence they have in 1st.
Firsties are so much fun though!! They're more independent then kinders but still want your love and attention!! Good Luck!!! I'm sure some others have ideas.

They know most of the routine's you taught in kinder just need reminders. They can work alone more once the year progresses and can work with others as well. Once you've taught expectations.

----------------For the person coming to 1st from older grades---

Model, Model, Model.. when it comes to rules the first week. Then revisit rules. If say 3 months in to school they're having trouble staying in their seats or raising their hands. Stop for 5-10 minutes revisit that rule and model how to follow that rule.

They need to be shown everything as if they were kinders still. How to line up again, walk in the hall, sit at a desk (especially if they came from a kindergarten room w/ tables). How to put their books in their desks etc---model it all.