First day ideas for 6th grade please - ProTeacher Community

srobles

First day ideas for 6th grade please
Old 06-19-2012, 10:06 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm new to sixth grade this year. I'd like some ideas of what you do on the first day. I don't want to use my activities from 4th grade. Any ideas would be welcome

srobles is offline   Reply With Quote

Gromit

Old 06-19-2012, 11:32 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I do this as an art project: http://www.deepspacesparkle.com/2008...line-drawings/

We go over how lines convey emotion, and I encourage the kids to do a self-portrait with wacky hair that conveys how they feel on that day. Then I hang them like a border along the classroom ceiling all year.

I also have a lot of my class library books scattered around the classroom, and we do a mini-lesson on book genre. The students then work together to decide what genre each book is and put it in the correct section of my library shelves. This serves many purposes: It is a mini-lesson on genre, introduction to books available for them to read, and practice working in groups. It also helps me see who is most interested in books and who might need more encouragement. And finally it gives reluctant readers exposure to a lot of book titles and blurbs that sometimes encourages them to pick up a book on their own.

It's time-consuming and a PITA to set up and monitor, frankly, but I think it's a valuable use of time.
Gromit is online now   Reply With Quote

kmob

check out this thread...
Old 06-19-2012, 12:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Last summer there was a thread with about a dozen back to school ideas, including some of my own. Hope it helps http://www.proteacher.net/discussion...d.php?t=345048
kmob is offline   Reply With Quote

LucyK

Other than organizing
Old 06-19-2012, 04:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

i like to play "two truths and a lie"

Always a great ice breaker- and the students love sharing about themselves!
LucyK is offline   Reply With Quote

MiddlingAZ

kmob