Help

ARCHIVE

can I teach 4th?

>

Viola Swamp

can I teach 4th?
Old 05-16-2007, 05:15 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I just graduated and was offered a job teaching 4th grade! I've never had experience with that high of a grade level (student teaching was done in K and 2). I'm so nervous! I've had some experience with 3rd grade and I really enjoyed it, but in the district that I would work in 4th is part of the middle school so I will be completely out of my element.

Can anyone offer some advice about 4th? Is there a drastic difference between 3rd and 4th? Can I do this???

Viola Swamp is offline   Reply With Quote

Kim/4th/SC

Love it!
Old 05-16-2007, 06:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I taught 4th for 5 years and loved it. Fourth graders are still sweet, but mature enough to work independently. They also still like to have fun and get humor. I also enjoyed teaching the curriculum for this age.

After having taught 2nd for a year, I'd have to say I prefer 4th.

Kim
Kim/4th/SC is offline   Reply With Quote

cheri

Fourth is great!
Old 05-16-2007, 06:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I find that the level of work is much more difficult in fourth than third, but the kids are just a little older. I went to school wanting to teach primary, but ended up on fourth grade. I'm so glad it happened that way. The kids are still sweet and cute, and they still really like their teacher. There isn't usually the attitude of the older kids (though it sometimes starts at the end of the year). They can do a lot of fun projects and are so much more independent than the littler ones. As an added bonus, I have learned a lot about ss and science by teaching fourth grade. These kids are expected to know so much! Is the change drastic? No. Not for you, but maybe for the kids. I think you'll love 4th grade! Good luck!
cheri is offline   Reply With Quote

hkinner

Yes you can
Old 05-16-2007, 06:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4