Charter Schools VS. Public Schools - ProTeacher Community

beachbumteach

Charter Schools VS. Public Schools
Old 06-25-2012, 10:24 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello everyone!
I have been a public school teacher since 2000 and will be relocating to a state with minimal job openings (PA). I've never taught in a charter school and to be quite honest, I don't know much about these kind of schools. There is one charter school that I'm interested in applying to in PA. I'd like to know your experience with teaching in a charter school (anything you can share would be great, both pros/cons). Most importantly, how does the pay compare to that of a public school? TIA!!!

beachbumteach is offline   Reply With Quote

teachkidz14

Thumbs Down to Charter
Old 06-25-2012, 10:40 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I taught in a charter school and resigned after two months. It was an awful experience. I'd be happy to go into more detail but here were the pros/cons of my circumstances:

Pros:
New Teacher Orientation was paid for
My students were great
The parents were not too bad
1st year teacher my pay was 35,000 (about 3,000 below public in my state)

Cons:
Made you sign up for THREE committees held after school each WEEK
Made me run an after school club each week and did not pay us for it
Had to have an achievement bulletin up every month--it took up an unecessary amount of time that could've been used better elsewhere
Too much stress on data/test scores in the school. If your students don't improve you are seen as a terrible teacher and basically I've heard you are put on a plan and will be fired if you don't improve
Watched them bully a teacher into leaving because the parents didn't like him so the admin forced him out
My team was TERRIBLE (this was a large part of my decision to leave)