Pros of Substitute Teaching? - ProTeacher Community

Last Chance to Enter!

SunShining

Pros of Substitute Teaching?
Old 07-10-2012, 06:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I graduated in 2011 and had 5 interviews but no job offers last summer, so I spent the past school year subbing. Even though there is still plenty of time to get hired (schools here usually start in early September), I'm trying to prepare myself for another year of subbing. Last year I was only in 1 district, and I'm hoping to add a few more this summer.

Can any other subs help me with a list of pros for substitute teaching vs. having your own classroom? Obviously there are cons too, but I'm just looking for the pros! Here's what I can think of so far:

- No lesson planning
- No prepping materials (usually)
- No taking home papers to grade
- No parent conferences
- No report cards
- If a school or class is a nightmare I don't ever have to go back

... what else?

SunShining is offline   Reply With Quote

theapple

Subbing Pros
Old 07-10-2012, 07:12 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I can only think of two at the moment. These are pros, for me, at least.

Working when you want. In 5 years, I took off four days. The first was because I had major gallbladder pains and wouldn't have lasted at all. The others were for fieldtrips and a day just to have off.

Working with several grade levels and subjects. Through subbing, I have learned that I am fine teaching any subject 2nd-6th grade. I want to teach primary school, but I would be okay working in a middle school, having experience there.
theapple is offline   Reply With Quote

Hideeho

Old 07-10-2012, 08:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Gather ideas from the classrooms in which you sub for your own classroom some day! (Start a binder with ideas)

Refine your classroom management skills. One area that can sink a teacher faster than almost anything else.