Help

ARCHIVE

A.R. Statistics?

>

SusanTeach

A.R. Statistics?
Old 05-28-2007, 07:05 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Does anyone know of specific statistics that prove if AR helps with reading ability?

My grade level is really pushing AR next year, yet we can't use the tests for grades. I don't mind using it if it REALLY helps, but at the same time I don't want to spend an enormous amount of energy on one particular area.

They're using the goals of each child and every time a goal is met they'll move a cartoon character (dependent upon their theme) to a higher spot. It's sounds nice, but it also sounds high maintenance to me. I don't HAVE to do it like them, but I'm just wondering if it's worth the time and effort.

How do you monitor/use AR in your classroom?

Thanks

SusanTeach is offline   Reply With Quote

Ima Teacher

Old 05-28-2007, 08:32 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I've used AR in my classroom for the last five years, and I'm also an AR trainer.

The program is the most help to your low level readers . . . not the lowest of the low, but those who are one to three grades below level.

The main thing is that EVERYONE who is using the program is properly trained. The main reason that people don't see results is that they don't follow the program's guidelines and it turns into a dismal failure.

We use our program as a part of the student grades for language arts class, and I can explain that if you'd like.

We don't use ours as an incentive program at all, but we do have an AR Day at the end of school and a field trip in the middle of the year.

I'd be happy to explain more if you'd like. You can post here or PM me.
Ima Teacher is online now   Reply With Quote

phoebe611

please explain more
Old 05-28-2007, 09:00 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I am interested in how AR should be used, so could you explain more please. Thanks!
phoebe611 is offline   Reply With Quote

Groovy Gal

I use AR as a grade why not you?
Old 05-28-2007, 09:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4