New Third Grade Teacher Seeking Advice - ProTeacher Community

hockeymom

hockeymom

New Third Grade Teacher Seeking Advice
Old 06-01-2007, 09:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi. I am new to this message board, but need some advice. I just landed my first official teaching job in the public school system teaching 3rd grade. I have taught at a private school (4 yr olds) and did my student teaching in Kinder. I am used to working with younger children. I know my classroom management worked for Kinder, but I have no idea what to do for third grade. Can anyone give me some suggestions as to what works for them?

thanks.

SusanTeach

3rd
Old 06-02-2007, 08:36 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

The great thing about 3rd grade is that they still want to please the teacher, just like K. At the beginning of the year, I let the kids help me make the classroom rules. Honestly, they're already developed but you'll find that you can "lead" the kids into wording it the way you already have it. I'll attach mine so you can see what we do.

You can say simple things like, "Thank you, John, for raising your hand before speaking". The others will follow! Praise goes a long way with 3rd graders!

I'm sure others will give you ideas, but that gives you a starting place. That's one thing I adore about 3rd grade - classroom management isn't that difficult.
Attached Files
File Type: doc Rules.doc (22.0 KB, 239 views)
SusanTeach is offline   Reply With Quote

2ndgradeteacher

Money System
Old 06-12-2007, 09:21 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3