Book Shopping-1st grade - ProTeacher Community

SuperTeachNJ

Book Shopping-1st grade
Old 08-07-2012, 06:22 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm new to daily 5 this year and I was wondering if some other primary teachers could provide me with some suggestions. How many books should a 1st grader have in their box? How often do you allow them to shop? How do you structure the shopping? Last, do you allow them any "look" books which are clearly not on their level but high interest?

Thanks!

SuperTeachNJ is offline   Reply With Quote

Socks

Book Shopping
Old 08-07-2012, 07:01 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My students are allowed to choose 5 books. One is allowed to be too easy for them, one can be too hard, the other three should be just right. They keep their books for a week. I have 5 tables. Each table has a day of the week to switch their books. (Monday - Blue, Tuesday - Red, Wednesday - Green, Thursday - Orange, Friday - Purple) If we are out of school on a Monday, Blue and Red will switch on Tuesday. If a child is absent on their day, they switch when they return. All book shopping happens during Morning Work.

I hope that gives you some ideas!
Socks is online now   Reply With Quote

AD

Old 08-07-2012, 07:35 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

How many books should a 1st grader have in their box? My rule is this-Have as many as you need so that you are reading the whole time as long as your book bin isn't bulging on the sides. I don't have a set number because some kids need more while some kids are fine with less. When they are beginning readers they tend to need more as the books are shorter and easier.

How often do you allow them to shop? Whenever they want! I do not feel it's my "job" to tell them when they can and can't choose new books. Many kids will trade a few books every couple days and keep some of their favorites for longer.