Help

ARCHIVE

Readers workshop or Guided reading?

>

TerryT

Readers workshop or Guided reading?
Old 06-04-2007, 06:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This may sound dumb but what's the difference between the two? If you do one do you not do the other? I am new to all of this and have spent a frustrating first year trying to incorporate a bunch of ideas and not doing any of them well!
I attended a Guided Reading workshop and implemented some of the ideas with literacy centers, but I am not really sure if what I'm doing is effective.
I have bought several of the recommended books and plan to read them this summer, but would really appreciate some advice!

TerryT is offline   Reply With Quote

nbcteacher

Rw
Old 06-04-2007, 06:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I think there are many ways to implement this-after all states and districts have their mandates, and each class has unique needs! I use guided reading as part of reader's workshop. After a mini-lesson students are doing independent reading and using a strategy taught during the lesson, I will pull a small group for guided reading. Also when students are participating in literacy stations I will pull a small group for guided reading or strategy instruction. Some teachers do not have literacy stations during reader's workshop- I've done it both ways.
nbcteacher is offline   Reply With Quote

TerryT

What is the best book for learning about
Old 06-04-2007, 07:12 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

readers workshop? There is so much good info out there. I'm having a hard time sifting through it!
TerryT is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Gators

Old 06-05-2007, 05:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

For Reading Workshop

I highly recommend: Growing Readers by Kathy Collins
and Reading with Meaning Debbie Miller
Go Gators is offline   Reply With Quote

Random

Old 06-05-2007, 01:48 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

These are by far my favourite reader's workshop books. I use bits and pieces from all of them and they really guide my instruction.