Home Phone Number to Parents? - ProTeacher Community

Tch2Empower

Home Phone Number to Parents?
Old 08-31-2012, 03:01 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi All. I'm pretty new to Proteacher and this board is usually my "release" after a long day. You guys rock! So I have a parent who asked for my home phone number today so she can call me after school hours if she has a question. I politely told her I don't give out my home number but she's welcome to email me and I will get back to her as soon as possible. I also told her that I do check my email on most nights and weekends. She proceeds to ask me if I can guarantee I will get back to her within 5 minutes after she sent the email. I said No I can't guarantee that but when I see it I will respond. She then tells me that is why she needs my home phone number because she'll need an immediate response. REALLY? She goes on to say that her daughter's former teacher at her old school gave her the number and that it makes for the best parent-teacher relationship. For a second, I wondered if I was being unreasonable and this other teacher had it right. Then I came to my senses. I work VERY hard. I give my students all I have to give during the school day. Then there is lesson plans, grading, etc. that is done at home. I REFUSE to have parents calling me during dinner and when I am spending time with my own children. I declined one last time and assured her that whatever arises we'll be able to take care of it the next school day. She left upset. I'm sure she'll be calling the Principal. Is this normal? Do you all give out your home phone numbers?

Tch2Empower is offline   Reply With Quote

Moana Mel

Old 08-31-2012, 03:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Quote:
Do you all give out your home phone numbers?
Absolutely not!
Moana Mel is offline   Reply With Quote

rhubarb

Ask her if she calls her doctor, dentist etc
Old 08-31-2012, 03:07 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3