New Teacher in 3rd Grade... HELP PLEASE... - ProTeacher Community

sunsky778

New Teacher in 3rd Grade... HELP PLEASE...
Old 06-18-2007, 04:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this post and love all the wonderful advice that I have read about. I have just graduated school and have been given a position teaching 3rd grade here in Florida. Most of my education has focused on the early primary grades K - 2 not much on older primary. It is amazing because although I feel intellectually prepared I wonder am I really ready for the hands on Maybe it is just first year jitters

I don't actually know where to even begin to prepare for my class. What should I be doing first? Any and all ideas will be very helpful.

Thanks

sunsky778 is offline   Reply With Quote

HryPotter

First things to do
Old 06-18-2007, 05:52 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Okay I was in your shoes a couple of years ago and I walked into a fifth grade classroom in the middle of the year not knowing what to do. You think school has prepared you but you have no idea until you do it. Then last year I moved down to third grade. I love it!! Okay this is what I did..

1. I went and looked at my room to see what I needed to get (find out what books you have, if you have a library, etc.).
2. I looked over my curriculum. (knew it like the back of my hand)(also checked my teachers manuals out for the summer)
3. I started preparing a master schedule for my classroom because we have to have these turned in before summer is over to county office.
4. I thought about how I was going to set up my room..desk, centers, etc.
5. Worked on preparing open house stuff (stuff to give to parents, students, ideas to do at home, etc.
6. Start a beginning of the year folder (anything you think you will need the first week of school such as parent letters, students letters, introduction letter, what you will do the first week of school)

GOOD LUCK AND WELCOME TO PROTEACHER!! THIRD GRADE IS THE BEST!!