ARCHIVE

read alouds and drawing

>

newteacher8

newteacher8

read alouds and drawing
Old 06-20-2007, 07:25 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher in a 2nd grade class, and I am curious about activities teachers allow their students to do during read alouds. During my student teaching, my cooperating teacher let 4th grade students draw while he was reading aloud. I though this was pretty cool, and would like to try in in my 2nd grade class next year. Has anyone done something like this in younger grades, and did it work? Any other suggestions? By the way, this is for an action research proposal that I would like to implement sometime in my teaching career.
THanks!

TDSteacher

During Read Aloud
Old 06-20-2007, 08:16 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

During read aloud, I let my students do other activities that are quiet and not language-based. This would include drawing, knitting, working puzzles, playing with tangrams, etc. Of course, when we stop to talk about the story, they have to stop their other activities and join in, so they still have to listen carefully. My one exception to this rule is on the first and last day of a book, when I want their full, undivided attention and emotional involvement.

It's something I've always done, but I read a study last year that said that the brain can multitask most effectively when the tasks call on different areas of the brain (thus the non-language-based activity rule). I currently teach 5th grade, but I have used this practice with students as young as 3rd.
TDSteacher is offline   Reply With Quote

PopcornNhugs

action research
Old 06-20-2007, 09:47 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I did an action research project that included drawing as a "pre-write" for first graders. You might want to link the the drawing during your read aloud as a way for students to brainstorm while you're reading. Just a thought.
PopcornNhugs is offline   Reply With Quote

cheri

Old 06-20-2007, 09:51 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4