Constantly feel like I'm under the microscope - ProTeacher Community

Last Chance to Enter!

Sadrezteach

Sadrezteach

Constantly feel like I'm under the microscope
Old 11-01-2012, 10:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello, I really need to vent. I am a k-5 social studies teacher, the only social studies teacher for over 500 students! In most of my classes, I teach 40 a week, things more or less go how I want. Unfortunately at my school the principal tends to only focus on the one or two classes I have problems with for evaluations. I have been having problems trying to find ways to teach my second grade students. I have problems getting them to pay attention, especially when reading. My principal came in for 5 minutes today and the kids were being a handful and only half of the students were actually on task. I feel like to him he blames me. I simply can't put on a song and dance for every lesson. Shouldn't kids need to be able to sit down and follow along with reading sometime? This school admin makes me feel like I can do nothing right, I constantly feel like I have a target on my back. I want and try very hard to reach my students but it doesn't always work. I honestly can not put into words how I feel except full of anxiety. I feel no matter how hard I try this guy concentrates only on the negatives. I could use a couple of words of encouragement. By the way I teach at a reservation school if anyone else has these problems.

Truman'sMom

Old 11-03-2012, 04:57 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

If you have 40 elementary students in your class at a time - God Bless You!