I need advice! - ProTeacher Community

soconfused

soconfused

I need advice!
Old 01-03-2013, 06:42 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been subbing in a local school for five years. During the past five years I have subbed almost every day. If I'm not schedule, they call and I drop what I'm doing and go in no matter what time they call. I only sub at this school and received my degree in May 2012. There were three different classroom positions open this year. I interviewed for two and was not called to interview for the last position created by an early retirement. My husband and I decided that all my dedication and loyalty to this school is wasted. Today I informed the principal's secretary that I was exploring other schools to sub at and she reacted strange. She started saying I couldn't leave that the school would be in a bind. The secretary told me that she had teachers that would not take off if I didn't sub for them and reminded me that there are two classes that I only sub because the behavior is horrible with other subs. She was practically begging me not to stop subbing there. Then she told the other two secretaries I was thinking about leaving and they were saying how much of a bind I would leave our school. Then they started talking about how the principal would be upset. WHAT??? Why is it that they say I'm the best sub in the school system but I'm not good enough to teach full time? I'm on the fence about leaving. It feels like my loyalty to them is overlooked. What should I do???

WIBadgerFan

Subbing
Old 01-04-2013, 02:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2