help teaching GA habitats - ProTeacher Community

valget

help teaching GA habitats
Old 07-01-2007, 02:44 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a third grade teacher in the Atlanta area. Is there anyone with any good ideas for teaching the GA habitats? Any good project ideas for this unit?

valget is offline   Reply With Quote

mary3rd

Teaching GA habitats
Old 07-01-2007, 04:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hi there! I teach in Newton Co. (Covington, Ga). I combined the habitat unit with one on writing a research report. I put a list of GA animals on the board. Each student chose one and researched it. I made sure they included a description of the animal's habitat and any body parts/coverings that helped it adapt to living in Georgia. They also, as a home project, constructed a model or shadow box of their animal in its habitat.
mary3rd is offline   Reply With Quote

valget

GA Habitat
Old 07-01-2007, 06:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Thanks! I llike that idea. This is my first time teaching third grade and I want to make sure I make it interesting. This idea is a good one.

ConnieWI

Habitat Project
Old 07-04-2007, 05:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I don't live in Georgia, but I think this project could be adapted.

First, I collect all kinds of habitat books from the library. For about a week before I begin the unit, students read as many as they can so they are familiar with a variety of habitats.

Then, students work in pairs, choose a habitat, gather the books about that habitat, and make a list of plants and animals that live in that habitat. At the same time, I am teaching about food chains and food webs.