Would you apply... - ProTeacher Community

knitting987!

Would you apply...
Old 06-10-2013, 06:11 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

if your dh laughed at the salary of aide yet he doesn't want you to work full time? I love working with kids, love it. But it would be everyday with a take home of not more than $500. Hours from 7:30 to-11:00. I'm torn if it is worth it. I do love the school but the pay is low for the $. Too many subs around her to find much work. I need to decide by Wednesday. What is subbing high school like? I've been too scared to try.

knitting987! is offline   Reply With Quote

choppie70

Old 06-10-2013, 06:15 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hmmmmm.... I am a full time teacher and after they take out my insurance and taxes/retirement I do not take home $500 a week, and I have been teaching almost 10 years! I guess it depends where you live

If your DH doesn't want you to work full time, then I would go for it. It is a more stable income than subbing.
choppie70 is offline   Reply With Quote

Mercury

Weekly? Biweekly?
Old 06-10-2013, 06:23 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

$500 a week is about what I make substitute teaching after taxes and such. We get paid every 2 weeks, so my check is a little over $1,000. I think if you make that working half the time that is decent pay! Even if you are talking biweekly, that's $250 a week for a part time job...not bad.
Mercury is offline   Reply With Quote

knitting987!

Old 06-10-2013, 06:25 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4