Help

ARCHIVE

Does Anyone use a Classroom Economy?

>

NC5th

Does Anyone use a Classroom Economy?
Old 07-12-2007, 04:32 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

My school is big on using rewards in the classroom. While I'm not 100% in agreement with this, it's my first year teaching here and I don't want to make a lot of waves. So, I'm looking for something that uses rewards, but more as a teaching tool. I checked out Beth Newingham's ideas for creating a classroom economy. Then, I checked to see if it would fit in with my social studies curriculum, and it fits quite well.

Has anyone used a classroom economy with a bank and a store? If so, how has it worked for you? Did you pay for the store merchandise with your own money or get donations from parents? Did you have only things for them to purchase, or services as well? I'd like to include some sort of services that aren't as materialistic, such as eating lunch with the teacher, choosing a recess game, donating your money toward buying more books for the library, etc. At Christmas time, I'd like to offer the chance of donating your classroom money to buy gifts for needy children in the hospital or something like that.

I will "pay" the students for performing their classroom jobs, for perfect attendance, for 100% homework completion, etc. I will NOT pay them for good scores on tests or anything like that. I disagree with that. I think it would not motivate kids, and would actually cause a lot of students who don't get perfect scores to become resentful.

Any ideas? Any testimonials as to how it's worked in your classroom? This is the first rewards system I've found that I've actually been somewhat excited about, that fits in the curriculum, and that I think could work without helping exacerbate materialistic attitudes.

NC5th is offline   Reply With Quote

knamom

I don't have an answer
Old 07-12-2007, 05:11 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2