Meet the teacher day...help! - ProTeacher Community

Teacher7

Meet the teacher day...help!
Old 07-20-2007, 05:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a first year teacher this year. I am just wondering if you could give me some suggestions about the meet the teacher day. Is this just a meet and greet situation or do I need to have a presentation prepared for the parents and activities for the students? Please help!

Teacher7 is offline   Reply With Quote

klc910

Meet the Teacher Night
Old 07-20-2007, 05:44 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

At my school it is a meet and greet. The teacher stands by the door and greets parents and students. They come in and find their desk. On their desk is instructions of where to put school supplies (I have labels on the floor for community supplies and the rest slides into their desk and we put it where it goes on the first day.) I have a back table with sign up sheets for parent volunteers, parent teacher conference, how students go home and if they buy or bring their lunch. I also have a giving tree poster by the table. Also on their desks I have a parent information folder that they take home. Some of whats in it stays at home and other things are surveys and contact information that they bring back. Some families like to stay, walk around the room and visit, others are in and out, especially if they have more than one child.
klc910 is offline   Reply With Quote

Tex

Meet the Teacher Day
Old 07-20-2007, 06:45 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I put together a PowerPoint presentation that covers all the rules, procedures, absences, about me, curriculum...really, everything that is included in my information sheets. I have it continually loopiing in the classroom.

In the past, a bunch of parents would come in at one time and have questions...now, they see the PowerPoint running and they generally sit and watch it until they see an answer to their question. It really simplified things.