Do you like teaching 5th grade - ProTeacher Community

sonjonia

Do you like teaching 5th grade
Old 07-20-2007, 05:51 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am new to 5th grade this year. I finished my student teaching in a 1st grade class. I am alittle nervous about the "bigger" kids. Although, I am confident that WE will learn alot and have fun doing it. Please list your pros and cons about being a 5th grade teacher.

Jip

I Love Fifth Grade!!!
Old 07-20-2007, 06:55 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Fifth grade students are:
-independent thinkers
- have a great sense of humor
-get excited about new ideas
- full of energy
- compassionate and thoughtful towards others
- great leaders
-optimistic
- dreamers and problem solvers

How long have I been teaching? 24 years!!! I think you're going to love it!

MissMe

I love it too!!
Old 07-20-2007, 09:43 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I started with high school (7 years), and while I loved my juniors and seniors, I've enjoyed my 5th grade (this will be my 5th year with them) much more. They are old enough to offer intelligent responses to serious questions, but young enough that they still want to please (even though some are 'too cool' to show it). It's also fun having the oldest age on campus. They don't have the attitudes of the older ones (there are always exceptions), they still generally have a healthy fear of their parents (i.e. - "do I need to call your parents about this?"), but they are old enough that you can work through most situations by reasoning with them and giving them an opportunity to take responsibility themselves. They are very helpful, but can be very sneaky too..... It really is a great age to teach. Remember - they love to be treated like they are older and will let you know that, but secretly they hope you will still do some of the things you did with the younger ones. You are going to have a great year... keep your expectations high, and they won't disappoint you.
bonpar

bonpar

5th grade
Old 07-20-2007, 03:52 PM