First year teacher: What do I purchase? - ProTeacher Community

hatillman

hatillman

First year teacher: What do I purchase?
Old 07-21-2007, 12:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher who will be teaching 4th grade. I want to start purchasing supplies for my room...what do I purchase? Games? Storage? What are the things a fourth grade teacher must have?

TeachinLV

Old 07-21-2007, 01:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Typically the school will provide you with the very basics like pencils, coloring materials, etc. They will probably have chart paper and borders (plain colors) for you to use as well. It is hard to say what you should spend money on. It depends how you are planning to structure your classroom.

I would say some organizational materials are important for yourself and your kids. I bought cubbies (there are many options) to use for graded papers and "mail" that needs to go home. A calendar, maybe some fun themed borders. If you want to spice up your bulletin boards and have something that lasts get fabric at WalMart. You can reuse it year to year.

I spent a lot of my own money the first few years. I am buying less now that I have a collection of stuff. Just really think about what you need to keep your classroom organized, inviting and structured... then decide what you need that isn't provided. You don't need to try and buy everything before school starts. You will be buying all year as needs come up. Don't forget that many parents are more than willing to get some things for you. Take them up on their offers. Good Luck!
TeachinLV is offline   Reply With Quote

Lori2006

I try to make stuff
Old 07-21-2007, 02:36 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Congratulations on your position. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the fourth grade!