Help

ARCHIVE

Theme HELP!

>

jojo72

Theme HELP!
Old 07-23-2007, 08:29 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have never used a classroom theme before - my school just didn't do it - and this year my teammates are all doing themes. Having never done this before - any suggestions for starting points or how you think of a theme would be most helpful!!! Thanks!!!

jojo72 is offline   Reply With Quote

KANTCH

There are a million themes!
Old 07-23-2007, 08:53 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Does your school have a theme or is everyone doing their own thing?
If you can pick from anything I would head to the teacher supply store near you and look around. Check out the theme board on proteacher for more ideas.
What grade are you teaching?
I teach middle school and my themes are directed by the theme of my school. I have had a camping theme, and a military (air force theme). This year I have a rainforest/jungle theme.
Have fun but don't go crazy...you can spend too much money so fast! I am sure everyone on this board will have great ideas for you.
Good luck!
KANTCH is offline   Reply With Quote

mel

Old 07-23-2007, 09:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

There are lots of themes that you can purchase a ton of premade stuff at the teacher store like ocean or jungle. It would be easy and quick but sometimes can get pricey. If you are willing to spend the time you could make things. I did a sports theme for this year. I found some things at the teacher store like sports border and die cut packages of balls, but I made a lot of stuff to go with this theme too. I just looked through my mailbox magazines that I had. I found a baseball unit that had pigs with baseball bats. I used my overhead and traced one for my behavior area. I made a sign that said grand slam behavior. This theme was a little harder to do than my previous ones because I had to be creative. It is so much easier to go to the teacher store and just buy it already made, but you can save a bundle if you want to get creative.