Help

ARCHIVE

Carpet Size?

>

IrvingEl

Carpet Size?
Old 07-29-2007, 07:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am looking to buy a carpet for my students to be able to sit on during our meetings, read alouds, ect.

Carpets are incredibly expensive...so I am trying to figure out the right size! I know it depends on your classroom size as well but my room is a pretty average classroom size (I think it is big but it is my first year teaching so I would be impressed with the size of just about any classroom!)

Do you think
4ft 5in by 5ft 10in
5ft 5in by 7ft 8in
5ft 10in by 7ft 8in

I have roughly 22 students in my classroom. The smallest carpet is obviously the cheapiest so if I can get away with that size I would love to but I want to make sure that I can get a carpet that fits all of my students. I am having troubles imagining how big I need the carpet to be to fit all of these little bodies!

Does anybody have any suggestions? I know there are a lot of factors that go into this but any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

IrvingEl is offline   Reply With Quote

Socks

Carpet
Old 07-29-2007, 07:36 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have 20 second graders and can't imagine having a carpet smaller than the 9X12 that I have. It could actually stand to be a bit bigger.

Here are several other options:

~Go to a carpet store and look at remnants - they can be pretty inexpensive.
~You can ask a carpet store if they have any old carpet squares (or rectangles) that you can have. Then you can duct tape them together - This takes a lot of duct tape, but it works!
~Sam's has the rubber mats that are pieced together with two foot squares.
Socks is offline   Reply With Quote

jen517

Old 07-29-2007, 07:51 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I agree that 9x12 is a good size. I think if you invest in anything smaller you will be disappointed. When you spend that kind of money you want it to be perfect! Good luck.
jen517 is offline   Reply With Quote

liketeaching1

Carpet size