Help

ARCHIVE

Word Wall ......... help me!

>

okjoan

Word Wall ......... help me!
Old 08-02-2007, 01:15 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a newish teacher and alternatively certified. I will teach 6th grade this year and I want to use a word wall. I read about them all the time, but how do you start putting up the words and how is it used?

Thanks!

Joan

okjoan is offline   Reply With Quote

phoebe611

do a search
Old 08-02-2007, 01:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

If you do a search for "secondary word walls" you will find some ideas to help you. Since I teach reading, my words will be vocab that we do from the stories or from our vocabulary books. There are all kinds of vocabulary you can use. Because I don't have the space to keep them up all year, I will put them up until we have mastered them (test time about once a month) and then start a new batch. I am going to introduce 5 new words each Wednesday (Word Wall Wednesday) and that will be our bell ringer for the day. They will write the word and definition, then draw a picture, list synonyms, antonyms, etc. - whatever I decide that week (or I may let them choose what to add). If you teach science, use science vocab, etc. I hope this makes sense. I have not done it like this before, so I hope it works this year. Be sure to check out these:

www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/studentsuccess/thinkliteracy/gallery.html
http://www.santarosa.k12.fl.us/reading/WordWall.htm

phoebe611 is offline   Reply With Quote

okjoan

Old 08-02-2007, 01:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Thank you so much!

Those ideas help and I like the Word Wall Wednesday....=)

shasha

A Week of Words
Old 08-02-2007, 02:15 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Well, maybe just M-Th... I have a narrow bulletin board in my room dedicated to "Wonderful Words". I choose one for each day M-Th.
The students receive a worksheet on Monday.