Classroom Jobs- 5th grade - ProTeacher Community

got2luvkids

Classroom Jobs- 5th grade
Old 08-04-2007, 02:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am using Mini-Economy for my 5th grade class this year. I am a first year teacher and would like some advice on some of the student jobs I could use in the classroom (Paper passer, Messenger, Electricion (lights), Technician (computers), etc... Is it better for each student to have a job? How often should I rotate? Every 2 weeks, 6 weeks, 9 weeks? I was thinking about having them apply for a job since we are doing mini-economy. I would love your feedback!! Thanks in advance..

Also, my theme for the rooming is outdoors/camping. I am posting a bulletin board with classroom jobs labeled "Campground Staff" Any creative names for these jobs to fit the theme? I may just have to have generic names I'd love to hear from you!

got2luvkids is offline   Reply With Quote

kblair

Student Jobs
Old 08-04-2007, 04:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

This is my second year teaching 5th grade (previously taught 4th for 4 yrs). I have a "classroom managers" chart in my room for the student jobs. The chart list the title of the job and job description. On the right side of the chart I have self-adhesive velcro circles and attach popsicle sticks with the students names on them by the specific job.
The students love the jobs and take them quite seriously. It gives them responsibility and I tell them that they are REALLY helping me out by doing their job (they love that!)

I rotate the names every 2 weeks to ensure that every student experiences each job throughout the year. (I don't have my students apply for the job because we have student helpers for the office, media center etc. and they go through an interview process for that). But applying for a job sounds like an excellent idea!!!

You can purchase the velcro at Walmart, Home Depot, Lowe's or any hardward store.

Good Luck!
kblair is offline   Reply With Quote

Beachcomber

Cafeteria Helpers