Help

New Teachers

Attention Getters!

>

ash2007

Attention Getters!
Old 08-06-2007, 03:27 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I know there are many ways to get the attention of your class. I would like a variety of different ideas on how everyone gets their students attention. I know this is vital that I implement it at the beginning of the year.

ash2007 is offline   Reply With Quote

Busy_Lil_Bee

hands on top
Old 08-06-2007, 04:12 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

i think i found this idea on this site. it's my first year and today was the second day. this has been quick and helps get their attention as well as drop everything in their hands. you simply say "hands on top." students place both hands on top of their head and resond "this means stop."

another teacher down the hall holds up 3 fingers- stop,look, and listen. if the "hands on top" gets old, i'm going to switch to this.

i also have a jar of marbles and each table can earn marbles. when the kids hear those marbles rattling- most of them stop and do exactly what i ask!
Busy_Lil_Bee is offline   Reply With Quote

Jillybeans2nd

Attention Getters
Old 08-06-2007, 04:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

1 2 3 Eyes on me

or

Bubble gum, lollipop, we've been talking, now lets stop.
(Use hand motions like your hands are mouths when you say bubble gum and pretend to lick a lollipop for that part.)

Clap a small pattern and have them clap back.

snap snap clap clap until the whole class is joining in the clap clap snap snap

Give me 5 with your hand up (and they put their hand up, too). I teach them that the five parts mean eyes on me, ears on me, feet still, mouths quiet and finally hands down.

That's all I can think of for now.
Jillybeans2nd is offline   Reply With Quote
lovingrd3

lovingrd3

attention getters
Old 08-06-2007, 05:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I do the clap pattern also.

Turn the lights off (having taught them that when this happens to "freeze" and look at teacher).