Painted cinderblock walls - ProTeacher Community

Last Chance to Enter!

ellenalesa

Painted cinderblock walls
Old 08-08-2007, 02:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I was told it's tough to get posters, etc. to stick to this surface. I had heard hot glue gun works, but not sure I want to ask the principal - I"m a new hire.

Any suggestions?

thanks...

ellenalesa is offline   Reply With Quote

teachnkids

cinderblocks
Old 08-08-2007, 03:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I worked in a school with cinderblocks and it was really tough to get stuff to stay. I remember having an awesome display for the hallway and it kept falling down! I finally hot glued it, but then some of the glue was tough to get off.
teachnkids is online now   Reply With Quote

LoneStarTeach

Velcro!
Old 08-08-2007, 03:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Believe me, I've tried everything (packing tape, glue gun, that blue sticky stuff at teacher supply stores--"tacky" something, picture hanger adhesives, even chewing gum!) and the only thing that reliably works is velcro. They make in packages with the pre-cut dots, but the strips on a roll are stronger and cheaper. It really works, believe me! I not only have cinder blocks, but it's had about 10 coats of paint on it. I also have a very old, very strong air-conditioner blowing toward the wall, and nothing ever falls off, the whole year!
Good luck!
LoneStarTeach is offline   Reply With Quote

Volleyann

Walls
Old 08-08-2007, 03:34 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I have the same kind of walls. I have found that hot glue works the best. I have also used the double sided sticky tape. Some brands are better than others.
Volleyann is offline   Reply With Quote

bandmom

try this...
Old 08-09-2007, 04:33 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5