Help

ARCHIVE

5 star sentence

>

snowwhite

5 star sentence
Old 08-13-2007, 09:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

In the archive I saw a post about a teacher who used whats called a 5 star sentence. IT sounds like a great idea and was wondering if anyone has a template for this. Or have done a similar thing

snowwhite is offline   Reply With Quote

luv2teach77

Re: 5 star sentence
Old 08-14-2007, 07:41 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I think the post in the archives you're referring to is mine. I've been doing the 5 star sentences for several years now. It's an idea I got at a teaching seminar I attended. I don't have a template to attach but it's something you could easily make. Basically it's just a skinny packet (divide a piece of paper into fourths, and that's the size I'm describing). The cover says "Be a 5 Star Writer" and has a spot for their name, so that's something you could easily type up. Then each page behind the cover looks the same. There are 5 stars across the top with the 5 traits that each sentence should have written inside them (Capitalization, Punctuation, Spaces, Letter Formation, and Spelling). Then there's a long line under the 5 stars for your students to write their sentence.

I hope this helps!
Debbie
luv2teach77 is offline   Reply With Quote

snowwhite

Old 08-14-2007, 09:39 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Hello!
Yes it was your post!!! Thank you for getting back to me!!! Is the paper folded long ways. So you have 4 strips basically? Also the stars on the top how do you make those?
Do you dictate the sentence everytime to the kids?

luv2teach77

Old 08-14-2007, 11:10 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Yes, you do fold the paper the long way...so with the cover and then a page for each day of the week, each packet would be 6 pages stapled together.