ESL/LEP

Push-in Frustration

>

Bellapointe

Push-in Frustration
Old 01-24-2016, 05:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello!

I am a brand new ESL teacher and am working in a school district that uses the push-in model. I am teaching in five different classrooms a day in grades 6-8. Although, most of the classroom teachers have been kind, a couple of them haven't. I am working with one particularly difficult teacher. She refuses to share any materials from her lessons from me because she fears that I will help the students to get the right answers. I've explained that I only want to look at the material to get a better idea of what I need to prepare for a group of seven students. It's been very challenging preparing lessons when I have to make guesses at what the whole class will be doing. Somehow, I manage to prepare a lesson for every class (although, they are sometimes slightly off). I've heard that the first year of teaching is hard but I didn't expect it to be hard in this way!

I would love to hear from teachers who have experience with push-in models and get advice on dealing with a classroom teacher who doesn't want a push-in ESL teacher in her classroom. Thanks!

Bellapointe is offline   Reply With Quote

JessSickah

Old 01-24-2016, 06:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Ugh! I feel for you. I am also a new ENL teacher and at first I thought I had the same problem. When did you start? I think it takes time for the classroom teachers to get used to having another teacher in their classroom everyday. I started at the end of October and I feel some of the teachers are just getting used to me. Just show up, with a smile everyday, maybe get a teacher edition of the text? Could you talk to another grade level teacher to get the material?

Hang in there, I feel your pain!!
JessSickah is offline   Reply With Quote

MissESL

Push in
Old 01-24-2016, 06:45 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3