Help

Sixth Grade

Solar System

>

Queenie Peavy

Solar System
Old 03-13-2016, 12:45 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a history teacher that has to teach a section of science. I'm trying to make the most of it but it is taking me out of my comfort zone. I am being observed in about a week and a half. This observation has to be in the science class.

We are just beginning a unit on the Solar System. Does anyone have a good lesson that you wouldn't mind sharing? I need something that can help me disguise the fact that I really dislike science. I already checked on pinterest but most of what I found seemed more like art lessons than science.

TIA,
Queenie

Queenie Peavy is offline   Reply With Quote

GreyhoundGirl

Old 03-13-2016, 01:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I found an amazing kit from Lakeshore Learninf and it was all hands on activities. I did a DC project for it but you might check it out. The kids measured how far they could jump and what that would be on other planets, their weights on other planets, etc. You could also get leveled readers to go with it. If you lived near me id totally loan it to you, it's just sitting in my basement.

I also have my kids leveled reading assignments and had them present to the class.

There are also a bunch of quests (I forgot what they're called but they compete assignments on the computer) and interactive activities of you google interactive activities and the solar system. Also, check NASA.
GreyhoundGirl is offline   Reply With Quote

amiga13

Old 03-13-2016, 01:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

My 5th graders did the one GG recommends last week: how much do you weigh on other planets? Good combo of math & science.

We'll be doing this next week.
http://mintaka.sdsu.edu/projectastro...ced_blanco.pdf