HELP! My class is out of control! - ProTeacher Community

clwilkerson

HELP! My class is out of control!
Old 09-04-2007, 02:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

HELP! My class is extremely talkative. I can never get all of my kids to stay on task or focus on me without disruptive behavior. I am a first year teacher, so I know that I have much to learn. The first two weeks of school were fine, but now I feel like my class is running all over me. Any ideas of how to gain the control back begining tomorrow?

We are using a color coded card system and marble jar for behavior management.

Please let me know of any suggestions that you have found useful to control behavior issues. I am starting to feel desperate.

TerryT

That was my class last year!
Old 09-04-2007, 04:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I felt just as you do now, last year, my first year. Being inexperienced, I was never sure if I was being hard enough on my kids or if I just had especially chatty kids (and the poor things couldn't help it!).
Now I realize that I should have laid down the law right away, and not let a single unacceptable behavior slip by.Whatever you let them get away with is what they will think is o.k.
I see it now as I start out with a new class and whenever I am tempted to "just let it go", I remember how quickly they will take that as a signal and run with it.Now if I see a student start chatting to his neighbour while I am in the middle of a lesson, I will immediately stop and remind him of my number one rule: No talking when I am talking!