Gifted Education

New to gifted

>

so_ca_tchr

New to gifted
Old 07-09-2016, 06:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi,
I am new to teaching gifted and talented this year. Do you have any tips and advice for me?

so_ca_tchr is offline   Reply With Quote

kitty11710

Old 07-10-2016, 06:41 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

What grade will you be teaching? Can you tell us how your school sets up their program? For example at my school, we have two GT classes per grade that come from all over the district. We have the same kids all day and teach them all subjects. However they are required to take the same state assessments as the general education students so we have to start first by following the same grade level standards and curriculum. I also find that many of my students are as highly gifted as you may think, so just as you would in general Ed, you have to begin your year with a ton of assessments. One child may be a gifted math student, but struggle at writing. Etc.. If you can give me more ideas about your program or if you have specific questions, I can help further.
kitty11710 is offline   Reply With Quote

Mrs.Lilbit

Old 07-10-2016, 05:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Welcome to Gifted Ed! Teaching gifted children is different from teaching regular ed and requires a different mindset. Like kitty said, without knowing how your program is structured, it is hard to give you specific pointers, but in general, my advice would be:

Raise your expectations. Many gifted kids develop lazy habits because an average effort on their part is still as good or better than the "typical" students' work; so they get used to doing less than their best and it being acceptable. Expect more from them--challenge them to revise, edit, and go above and beyond what is normally accepted from them.