Storytown - ProTeacher Community

Peters

Storytown
Old 09-08-2007, 10:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

My district just purchased the new Harcourt series called Storytown. Are there any other 4th grade teachers out there starting this new series. I would love to talk about how they are setting it up. It is very overwhelming

Peters is offline   Reply With Quote

Abbra

Another New Storytown Teacher
Old 09-08-2007, 10:42 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm a Title 1 Teacher at a school that is also just starting to implement the Storytown Series. The teachers in my district have not done guided reading groups before and they are finding it very stressful. Most taught one story to the whole class or did novel units with the whole class (Grades 4-6). The district went to the basal because we needed to get some cohesiveness across the grade levels and start to train the teachers more of the up to date reading strategies.

The district only bought a few copies of the below level readers for each grade level which are intended for the students that I would be seeing. Many of the teachers (Grades 2 and up) don't understand the concept of large group and small group guided reading so it has been a struggle explaining. Since the district did not purchase the on-level and above level readers for the small groups, the classroom teachers are not sure what to do in their classrooms during the small group time. I've suggested stories from www.readinga-z.com and using lit circles with "different" books according to the student reading levels, but that hasn't sunk in yet.

Some teachers are switching students so each has a different level...but that still doesn't make it a small enough group for guided reading. Oh well- it's a learning process! Right now the teachers want me to take 12 third graders. (My limit is suppose to be 5-6.) I may try to do it with an aide.

What makes it worse is we don't have all the materials that we ordered.