Help

Intervention & Title I Services

parent involvement ideas

>

relax

parent involvement ideas
Old 08-23-2016, 04:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am interviewing for a Title IA teaching position on Thursday. I need to bring 5 ideas for parental involvement. Any blockbuster activities out there? TIA

relax is offline   Reply With Quote

ConnieWI

Parent Involvement
Old 08-24-2016, 05:16 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I work part time as an interventionist. Here are some parent involvement activities my students do each night with parents.

1. Kindergarten - At the beginning of the year, I work with kindergarteners who can not yet identify the letters of the alphabet and their sounds. (My district has a 4K program where alphabet identification and sounds are taught, but in 5K there are usually four to six students who did not attend 4K or did not pass PALS testing in 4K.)

We use Jolly Phonics in 5K, which introduces one letter per day. Each night, students go home with another letter (upper case and lower case) flash cards. Parents review letters with the child (identify letter and sound) each night. Letters are placed in a plastic bag.

I also made little booklets with the upper and lower case letters on the cover. Inside are pictures beginning with the focus letter and the upper and lower case letters. Kindergarteners read these booklets to their parents...say the name of the picture and the sound of the letter three times. (snake...S s...S s...S s; sun...S s...S s...S s; sink...S s...S s...S s; etc.)