Help

New Teachers

Handicap? Or lie about it.

>

Oncidium

Handicap? Or lie about it.
Old 08-23-2016, 07:18 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Background information. In 2005, I was hit by a car while riding a bike, and one leg was crushed. The leg was rebuilt with a lot of titanium and screws, rather than amputated. I have been in pain ever since.

As a soon-to-be teacher I am wondering how to explain the fact that I cannot get around as well as others in the same position. Yes, I am older, and have several careers, but I also have a "bum" leg. I do not know what to call it. It is not prosthetic, but there is a lot of metal, and a lot of screws. My leg swells, and I feel pain quite a bit. I am not classified as "handicapped." but I cannot run, cannot walk a long distance, cannot sit cross legged on the floor, cannot stand for much more than 10 minutes at a time without pain (I can do it, in fact, I have stood for 8 hour shifts, but must keep lifting my foot, and propping up my leg and so forth.) If I stand for 8 hour shifts, I need to take the next day off. I am in so much pain. Also, since I have metal in my legs, my legs hurt when there is a weather situation, like rain, or storms. The sharp ends of the broken bones also destroyed veins in my legs, and the ensuing vein problems are a part of the pain. (When the leg was hit, it screwed around backward)

So, my question. Should I bring this up at all?

All this time I have been avoiding this reality about myself. There are Principals who look down on teachers who must sit for awhile whether behind the desk or not. So, does the fact that I actually NEED to sit in order to avoid serious pain, and will always need to sit, at least part of the day, cause me to lose Jobs?

Oncidium is offline   Reply With Quote

dee

In our school
Old 08-24-2016, 02:03 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

A letter from the doc is needed and given to the nurse. You may or may not qualify for a 504 plan, but that would help.