ESL/LEP

Discipline system for pull-out groups?

>

Helen07

Discipline system for pull-out groups?
Old 08-24-2016, 05:43 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello all,

I am a first-year ESL teacher working with Kindergarten and grades 2-3, and I am trying to decide what discipline system to use for the year. I've found a lot of information on classroom management systems for classroom teachers, but my situation is a little more specific since I teach pull-out groups for about 45 minutes at a time. The classroom teachers in my school use the system where they move clothespins along a colored card, and at the end of the day they go home with a color. Do you think it would work for me to do the same thing on a miniature scale, and have them receive a color at the end of the pull-out group? Or should I do something totally different?

Thanks in advance!

Helen07 is offline   Reply With Quote

Tiamat

Old 08-24-2016, 01:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I do a similar sort of thing in my pull out classes. Kids can move up or down a sliding behaviour scale and, at the end of my session, receive a level which is reported to their class teacher (and works in with the whole school behaviour system). Because it's whole school, I don't have a lot of choice, but it works well with my kids (our high needs behaviour kids, who aren't ESL, don't care a hoot about the system).

Be aware that kindergarten, at the beginning of the year, will likely have no idea what is going on and not understand the colour system at all, especially ESL kids, who probably aren't understanding much at all.

Good luck!
Tiamat is offline   Reply With Quote

Haley23

Old 08-24-2016, 04:15 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3