Anyone ever used LLI before? (Leveled Literary Intervention) - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Intervention & Title I Services

Anyone ever used LLI before? (Leveled Literary Intervention)

>

nstafins

Anyone ever used LLI before? (Leveled Literary Intervention)
Old 09-13-2016, 06:12 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi! This is my first year as a Title 1 tutor and my second year teaching. Last year I was a 5th grade language arts teacher, but was a part of a massive riff at the end of the year. I'm doing reading intervention for 7th and 8th graders using the LLI program. I've never used it before and it's brand new to the district so no one can give me any input.

If anyone has ever used it before, I could use some advice. I just feel as if it's so boring for the kids. To read a new book silently every single day (sometimes awful selections) and then do a writing activity where they are not even graded? I know they hate coming to my class because it's boring and I can't blame them. I'm not allowed to deviate from the curriculum.

I love that the LLI has a lesson plan book, but I often have questions when looking through it. For starters, what the heck do I do with their writing after they finish it? I always read it and make comments, or we discuss it together but that's it. Also, what do I need to do while they are silently reading? The lessons state each book should be read silently so meanwhile I'm just wandering around and keeping busy. My next thing is that some kids are faster readers than the others, so I always tell them to read independently when they finish the class book but I often catch them staring vacantly into space or falling asleep.

I just don't find the program very engaging, or the books high interest. And meanwhile, I'm at a loss for what to do. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? I've watched all the training videos and been to a seminar. I'm just feeling very blah about it.

nstafins is offline   Reply With Quote