Help

Future Teachers

High Anxiety

>

Bastille1966

High Anxiety
Old 10-24-2016, 02:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Due to my experiences trying to get a teaching job, I am interested in starting as an internationalist, or ESL teacher before getting my own classroom as I want to build my confidence. I don't think that I am ready to jump in and teach my own classroom just yet.

I am a very recent graduate with my Bachelor's in elementary and have a brand new teaching license. My problem is that I am having difficulty with my feelings of reservation about the experience of a first year teacher based on what I have seen and what I have read-and this may be affecting my ability to get my first teaching job.

I know that I should just 'jump in' but what if I fail-and most importantly fail the students. I would love to work as an interventionist and have looked at the job boards at my local school district, but I could not find those positions.

I feel like I am a unique case because when talking to people who volunteer or work as a tutor as I have done, you never hear about people who ran into the roadblocks after graduation such as self doubt and difficulty getting started.

Hopefully, someone has some helpful advice for someone in my situation.

Bastille1966 is offline   Reply With Quote

lisa53

Old 10-25-2016, 02:36 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

The first year of teaching is tough! Think of it as a huge challenge...the toughest job you'll ever love. (At least that was my experience...but my first year of teaching was when I was in the Peace Corps!)

There are ways to ease yourself into a teaching career.

-You could substitute teach for awhile.
-You could take a long term sub position for a teacher who needs to take a maternity or health leave.
-You could look for a job as a para.