New Teachers

Feeling discouraged

>

pielette

Feeling discouraged
Old 11-23-2016, 10:57 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Happy Thanksgiving!

I am grateful that I have found a job this year. However, I feel as if I have chosen the wrong profession. So many things have happened since the beginning of the year that I feel like I shouldn't be a teacher.

First, I did so poorly in my original grade that the principal switched my assignment to another grade. While I am happy about the switch, I feel a lot of pressure to do well. I am under a microscope and I need to prove to everyone that I will not fail again.

Second, I don't fit in at the school. I am a minority and although the students are minorities too, they don't respect me. They haven't had a teacher like me before and so they don't seem to think I am a real teacher. It is really hard to fight the feeling that everyone else is a real teacher and I am not.

If I was a struggling student, I would tell myself to not give up and to celebrate little successes. However, right now I feel totally discouraged. I hate being myself at the school I am at .

pielette is offline   Reply With Quote

lv2read

Old 11-24-2016, 10:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

You mention that you were switched to another grade level; this is not a bad thing. There are some grades that we teachers aren't comfortable teaching. Despite the grade level, there are things that you may need to change to get the respect you are deserving.
1. You must present yourself with confidence and presence. Let your students know that you mean what you say. Establish boundaries, rules and consequences. Follow through with the consequences.
2. Establish procedures and routines that work for you. Teach them to your students. Expect perfection and rehearse as needed to get there.
3. You are not expected to do everything perfectly. Teachers learn how to get better with time and practice. Recognize the things that are going well. Work on one or two things at a time.