They won't stop talking! - ProTeacher Community

lil annie

They won't stop talking!
Old 09-13-2007, 02:54 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my 18th year to teach so I am not a novice at it. I have a group of students (first grade) this year who absolutely will not shut up for any length of time. I don't expect my room to be a quiet place but there is a time for talking and a time for being quiet. I hand out good news tickets (for a Friday drawing with our principal) for children who are doing what I need for them to do. I take away priveleges and write in conduct folders for those who choose to continue to talk. Some of them absolutely do not care about either thing. I've got 3 who sit alone and it's only the 3rd week of school. They talk out loud to themselves. I've gotten the parents involved and it hasn't helped. I asked a couple of the kindergarten teachers how they got them quiet last year and they said they never could. Suggestions?

lil annie is offline   Reply With Quote

ecsmom

Old 09-13-2007, 03:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have a very chatty K class this year. They are better early in the day so I am trying to accomplish as much as I can then. We have a very scattered specials schedule with some things being as early as 8:30 and others not until 1:00. I've noticed that they are better when we have the late specials. We had an early morning assembly this week. They were out of sorts for the rest of the day.

I use the give me 5 sign to get them quiet. Sometimes I will tell them to put their hand over their mouth to help them remember not to talk while I am teaching.

Good luck. Some groups just seem to be more talkative than others.
ecsmom is offline   Reply With Quote

nanz

Whisper Day
Old 09-13-2007, 04:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3